To purchase tickets ($250/person), contact Victoria Castor at 919-962-2231.

Saving Our Birds logo

Fifty years ago, on April 10, 1966, the North Carolina Botanical Garden opened its first nature trails to the public. That same year, the Botanical Garden Foundation was incorporated to champion, promote and sustain the Garden. Since then, the Garden and the Foundation have gone on to steward over 1000 acres of display gardens and nature preserves in North Carolina and become one of the country’s premier conservation-focused botanic gardens dedicated to increasing our understanding, appreciation, and conservation of plants.

This deserves a celebration!

Please mark your calendars and plan to join us as the Garden and the Foundation jointly celebrate our 50th anniversary at a black-tie gala at the grand historic DuBose House in Chapel Hill on Saturday, October 22, 2016. A cocktail reception will begin at 6:00, allowing guests to experience the grandeur of this beautiful home and its gardens. Dinner will be served in the Magnolia Room of the Rizzo Conference Center. For those of you attending from out of town, we will be happy to assist with accommodations at the Rizzo Conference Center hotel as well.

As we mark our 50th anniversary, we will honor several of our most gracious benefactors, including Tom Kenan, Florence Peacock, Harriet Martin and Joan Gillings. Each of these individuals has been a dedicated friend to the Garden, a passionate and enthusiastic supporter, and instrumental in the growth of the North Carolina Botanical Garden.

We hope you will help us sustain our work and celebrate our golden anniversary by attending or supporting the Gala.

This will be a delightful evening of food, fun and fellowship as we celebrate our shared history and look forward to the promises of the future. Please plan to join us and we are grateful for your support.

Damon E. Waitt
North Carolina Botanical Garden

Gala Honorees
Joan Gillings
Tom Kenan III
Harriet Martin
Florence Peacock

Honorary Chairperson
Janet B. Dean

Gala Committee
Gregory Fitch
Missy Rankin
Stephen A. Rich
Robert Broad
Elizabeth Bennett
Mary Galloway Neill
Melissa M Cain
Thomas Wright Earnhardt
Victoria Castor

Updated on October 08, 2016 at 09:35:10 am.