Class of 1997 25th Reunion

UNC Logo

Class of 97 with Coker Arbor pics

This year marks the 25th anniversary of our graduation from Carolina! Stay in touch by sharing your Carolina stories and life updates on the UNC Class of 1997 Facebook page.

We had a grand time at Homecoming. Over 200 class members and their families attended our scheduled events. Several of you have made a gift to recommit to our senior class gift, but we need more classmate involvement.

25th anniversary edition of our Senior Class Gift:

As we celebrate our 25th anniversary, we are recommitting to our original senior class gift. Twenty-five years ago, we funded the replacement of the 300-foot wooden arbor which welcomes visitors to Coker Arboretum. We did this because the Coker Arboretum is an icon at Carolina and we wanted a special way to honor our classmates who tragically died one year earlier. The Arbor has become worn down and needs our help again. Our goal is to have every classmate participate this fiscal year, and when we have 25% class participation, the Class of 1997 homecoming planning team will provide a $50K gift to boost the overall fundraising efforts. Use this secure giving link.

Become a Class of 1997 Champion! We now have a crowd funding site to help us reach more classmates to support our class gift.  Go to this site to become a Champion by sending the giving link to your network of classmates.

To give through a charitable foundation or third party, direct a gift to the North Carolina Botanical Garden Foundation (Tax ID #566076622) with the memo of “Class of ’97 Restoration fund (525227)” and send to:

North Carolina Botanical Garden Foundation, Inc.
Attn: Stephen Keith, Director of Development
UNC Chapel Hill
CB # 3375; Allen Education Center
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3375

Contact Stephen Keith at 919-962-9458 or via email with donation questions.

Go Heels!

Class of 1997 Homecoming Planning Committee 

Reza Ardalan
Karen Burke
Trinita Carlton
Virginia Cepeda
Brian Van Druten
Matthew Guest
Rebecca Halloran
Rob Hielscher
Trent Jernigan
George Manousos
Amy McLamb
Scott Ogle
Bryant Paris
Lisa Oelhafen Peterson
Erin Reade
Zach Rike
Ladell Robbins (Class of 1997 President)
Pam Adler Schanel
Bimal Shah
Katie Smith
Chris Tebbit
Ian Walsh
Amelia Bruce Zelnak (Class of 1997 Vice President)